google news

The New Seven Wonders of the World

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World have been dethroned by the Seven New Wonders of the World: do you know them?

new seven wonders
new seven wonders

You have probably heard of The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World that included The Hanging Gardens of Babylon and The Pyramid of Giza. However, you may not be aware that there are Seven New Wonders of the World. They were decided upon by around 100 million votes in 2007.

The New Seven Wonders of the World

These new seven wonders are The Great Wall of China, The Taj Mahal, Petra, The Colosseum, Christ the Redeemer, Chichén Itzá and Machu Picchu. Let’s take a look at each one in more detail.

The Great Wall of China

The Great Wall is China’s most famous landmark. In reality, it’s actually a series of different walls that cover a total length of approximately 20,000 kilometers (according to a Chinese state administration estimate in 2012); only around 2000km still stands today.

The Taj Mahal

The Taj Mahal is an ivory marble temple in India. It was designed and built at the time of the Mughal Empire. The structure represents the Mughal architectural style that focussed on symmetry. It was made a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983 as one of the most globally recognised and admired constructions in history.


Petra was built by the Nabateans who lived in the area for more than four centuries. The ruins of the city are situated in the Wadi Musa Valley and they are a truly stunning landmark to behold. The site brings in around 500,000 visitors every year.

The Colosseum

The Colosseum is one of the most impressive examples of the architecture of the Roman Empire. It was originally used for gladiator fights and executions. Now, it is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Europe and one of the most globally recognised structures in the world.

Christ the Redeemer

The Christ the Redeemer Statue is a famous sight in Brazil. It was only constructed early in the 20th Century but it’s made a massive impact in a relatively short space of time. The huge monument, towering over Rio de Janeiro is a symbol of Christianity all over the world.

Chichén Itzá

The city of Chichén Itzá was part of the ancient Mayan civilization. The city was home to a thriving population until it was abandoned around A.D. 1200. This meant that it was completely uninhabited by the time the Spanish arrived during the 16th Century.

Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu was a settlement in Incan civilization. It is located on the slopes of the Andes and was originally a retreat for Pachacuti Inca Yupanqui, an Incan emperor. The settlement was abandoned in the mid-16th century during the Spanish conquest although the real reasons for its abandonment are unclear.

The New Seven Wonders of the World represent the best of the landmarks around the world. They are all amazing locations to visit and draw in millions of tourists every year.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


More To Read